Book Review: The Vampire Diaries:Awakening and The Struggle by LJ Smith

`These books pre-date Twilight by more than ten years. Fantastic fun! Stefan and Damon Salvatore have a sibling rivalry that is amazing, and intense.

Let me start by saying: I am so glad I finally gave this series a shot. I have not been disappointed! The Vampire Diaries might seem like it’s a rip off of Twilight Saga, but the truth is that this series was released in 1991!! Many, many years before Twilight was even thought of! So I will stop all prejudgments there.

The characters in this book series are very interesting. Elena, who was at first portrayed as shallow, really begins to grow on you. Stefan, Bonnie, Meredith, and Caroline are all great supporting roles.

To be honest with you, the character that stood out the most is the character you see the least until the end! Damon Salvatore, Stefan’s sinister, manipulative older brother.

The book climaxes, then ends very suddenly, forcing the reader to think twice about not continuing on to the second book, The Struggle. Which, I believe, was the point. It was very well done. If I didn’t have another book I wanted to read immediately, the Salvatore brothers would have me for another 200 + pages.

The Struggle takes up where Awakening leaves off. As expected, the intensity increased 100 fold. I am very excited to get to the last two books in the initial series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

